The power of the Wallman double chin emoticon :))

December 27, 2012 — Leave a comment
Andy_Onion_copy

Simply looking at a chicken brings out the double chin.

Some lucky Wallmans were born with multi-chin powers, enabling us to conjure up a double chin with incredible ease. I simply smile, and a second chin jumps out from below the first and says, “Hi! I’m the other chin!” Breathing is much harder for me than making a double chin. With just a touch of effort, three or four chins can easily be summoned.

Three teenage daughters claim to be our children, and they keep my wife and I in a steady stream of text and social network communications. Recently at the end of a text exchange, one daughter texted me back an unusual emoticon face. It had two smiles. :)) I didn’t get it, and texted back “Huh?”

She replied, “It’s the smiley face :) Wallman double chin style :))”

Brilliant.

It’s a timeless chin. My father and grandfather before me were storied displayers of the multi-chin. Back in 1994, Scott Dikkers was the editor of the Onion in Madison. He knew I had a suit and tie, so asked if I’d pose for a cover photo. And lo! by tilting my head just a few degrees, even back in the 90’s, Chin II comes out to party.

Eighteen years later, we have a Wallbranded Wallmoticon. A family joke, told in three characters. A personalized punctuation picture that says a thousand words.

Proof yet again that the power of symbols beat words by communicating more with less.

Got any other examples of the personalized emoticon or personalized symbol?

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

What do you think?

